Opt-Out or AT&T will share more of your data via their Privacy Policy changes 21

AT&T has made changes to their Privacy Policy to allow them to share more of your personal data (gathered on each of your devices) with advertisers and external marketing folks. Perhaps I’m a digital prude… but I have chosen to “Opt-Out” of sharing my data with advertisers and marketers. The good news is that AT&T has an Opt-Out provision (this is a legal requirement in the US)… the less than optimal news is that the Opt-Out isn’t straight forward.

THE OPT-OUT SCOOP: For a complete Opt-Out of AT&T’s new personal data share programs, you must click to Opt-Out of both programs (via two different links) on each of your devices. For me, this meant that I needed to clink the links on my laptop and also on my iPhone. (If you have an iPad you must also clink the links on this devise also to complete the Opt-Out). Clicking the links on my laptop and checking each of the Opt-Out boxes was simple enough. Although, I had to call customer service to complete the Opt-Outs for my phone… and will likely call back for confirmation of a successful Opt-Out from my iPhone.

Here are AT&T’s Opt-Out links:

All AT&T customers should have received an email from AT&T giving notice of these privacy policy changes and providing the Opt-Out links. My guess is that most folks may have overlooked the email… and even if folks saw the email…. they may not have noticed the multiple steps required for a complete Opt-Out.

Feel free to forward this blog post to your friends and family. I’m forwarding it to my mom.

(And if I can pass a message onto AT&T… come on, make this simpler. The error message that I received while trying to Opt-Out on my iPhone stated that I could NOT Opt-Out because I was “using a Wi-Fi connection and not an AT&T network”….???? Am I supposed to leave work and walk around the block so that I can click on the links without being on WiFi? Even turning off the WiFi on my iPhone resulted in the same error message… which is why I called customer service and will have to call back because I have not received a confirmation message).

BY: Vanessa Kaster, Esq., LL.M.

For personalized legal services you are welcome to contact me at vk@kasterlegal.com.

For more information on privacy policies see: http://wp.me/p10nNq-tf; http://wp.me/p10nNq-bL; http://wp.me/p10nNq-ni; @iplegalfreebies and for more information on Opt-Out policies see: http://wp.me/p10nNq-6j

21 comments

  1. can someone do opt out for me/I keep getting aTTs wireless connection but I do not have wireless/also I can not figure out how to do pop up blockers on my new windows 7 pc thank you

  2. As a long time AT&T consumer and shareholder I am furious about AT&T’s
    cavelier, devious, and insultingly convoluted requirements for opting out of their plans to share data “mined” from my accounts for demographic & marketing strategies for themselves and others. Their opt-out procedures are deliberately designed to dissuade subscribers from opting-out.
    Their smokescreen smacks of heavy-handedness akin to stuff coming out of the dictatorial policies of the current White House administration.
    UNACCEPTABLE !!!!
    In my case, their strategy is going to backfire …..when I adopt another carrier.
    REALLY MAD

  3. Howdy would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with?
    I’m going to start my own blog in the near future but
    I’m having a hard time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for
    something unique. P.S Apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  4. Tried opting out and kept saying I was on a wired connection or wifi and to disconnect first. Tried and tried and couldn’t get it to work. Finally I realized I was using the chrome web browser in my iPhone and thought maybe I have to use safari. Sure enough I loaded the opt out page through safari and it recognized I was not on wifi and worked. Not sure if it will work for anyone else but worked for me.

Leave a Reply

